Special Committee on U.S. Route Numbering

AASHTO Liaison
Jim McDonnell, P.E., Program Director for Engineering


Information on Making an Application:

The application available is an upgrade of what we currently have. A final and perfected application is still in the works. Please select the following link and you will find a Microsoft Office Word Form with guides, checklist, policies and instructions.

U.S. Route Number Application: USRN Electronic Application Form (April 2020)  

The following steps in the process of U.S. Route Numbering applications must be completed in order for new changes become official.

  1. The committee reviews applications and makes recommendations to approve or disapprove the request.
  2. The committee shall report all recommendations and decisions to the Standing Committee on Highways and will ask for its approval. This will take place at SCOH’s spring and annual meetings.
  3. In the case of interstate route requests, both FHWA and SCOH must approve. (Refer to the FHWA Links at the bottom of this page.)
  4. These decisions will be presented to the AASHTO Board of Directors in the SCOH report at the Board’s business meeting.

U.S. Route Number Application: USRN Electronic Application Form (April 2020)​- Please send your application(s) to usroutes@aashto.org. You will be notified when the committee will meet to review and vote on applications. For Interstate applications be sure to include any and all supporting documents you have from FHWA.

AASHTO Policy Statements: Purpose & Policy Statement HO1 and Purpose & Policy Statement HO2 (Retention of HO1)

CHECKLIST: CHECKLIST: Use with application on US Route Numbering Request​ is provided to insure that you have collect all information needed by AASHTO.

We appreciate your attention and patience.

If you are a mapmaker, a GIS specialist, an interested party in the nation’s highways, send your email address to jdawkins@aashto.org and you will be place on a “Mapmakers” email group list.  Emails are deleted when they become undeliverable.

Member Department Contacts:

Resource Person for Route Num​bering Issues in the DOTs

(If your member department does not appear below or a change needs to be made, please email pngethe@aashto.org​ with the person’s name and email address.)  This is dated 09/08/2015.

State Contacts for Route Numbering​​ 

Member Name Email
Alabama Robert J. Jilla jillar@dot.state.al.us
Alabama Ronny Pouncey pounceyr@dot.state.al.us
Alaska Jill Sullivan jill.sullivan@alaska.gov
Arkansas Scott E. Bennett Scott.Bennett@arkansashighways.com
Arizona Richard Moeur rmoeur@azdot.gov
California Navneet Singh navneet_singh@dot.ca.gov
Colorado Pyllis Snider phyllis.snider@state.co.us
Delaware Mark Luszcz mark.luszcz@state.de.us
Florida Jerry Scott jerry.scott@dot.state.fl.us
Georgia Clayton Carter Clayton.Carter@dot.state.ga.us
Idaho Garry Young garry.young@itd.idaho.gov
Illinois Gregory Runyard Gregory.Runyard@illinois.gov
Illinois Lobmaster, Travis Travis.Lobmaster@illinois.gov
Indiana Daniel A. Dozier ddozier@indot.IN.gov
Iowa Paul Mauer Paul.mauer@dot.iowa.gov
Kentucky Bob Goodman Bob.Goodman@ky.gov
Louisiana John Weary John.weary@la.gov
Maine Peter M. Coughlan Peter.Coughlan@maine.gov
Maryland Kevin J. Powers kpowers@sha.state.md.us
Massachusetts Steve Timmins stephen.timmins@mhd.state.ma.us
Michigan Patrick Allen allenp@michigan.gov
Minnesota Mark Gieseke mark.gieseke@state.mn.us
Mississippi Wayne M. Evans wevans@mdot.state.ms.us
Montana Ed Ereth eereth@mt.gov
New Hampshire William Watson bwatson@dot.state.nh.us
New Jersey Sophia Azam Sophia.Azam@dot.nj.gov
New Mexico
New York David Woodin, PE, PTOE David.Woodin@dot.ny.gov​
North Carolina Renee Roach rroach@ncdot.gov
North Carolina Jeff Jaeger jjaeger@ncdot.gov
North Dakota Denny L. Johnson dennjohnson@nd.gov
Ohio Michael Greenwood michael.greenwood@dot.state.oh.us
Oklahoma  Matthew Swift mswift@odot.org
Oregon Douglas Bish douglas.w.bish@odot.state.or.us
Pennsylvania Kenneth Reuther KREUTHER@pa.gov
South Carolina Gail C Dia diagc@scdot.org
South Dakota Steve Gramm steve.gramm@state.sd.us
Texas James Koch james.koch@txdot.gov
Utah Peter Jager pjager@utah.gov
Vermont Mary C. Spicer mary.spicer@state.vt.us
Virginia Engelhart, Cindy L., P.E. Cindy.Engelhart@vdot.virginia.gov
Washington Mark Bozanich bozanim@wsdot.wa.gov
West Virginia Gary W. Graley gary.w.graley@wv.gov
Wisconsin Rebecca D. Szmkowski Rebecca.szymkowski@dot.wi.gov
Wyoming Martin Kidner martin.kidner@dot.state.wy.us


Others: Maps, Special Interests

Utah Kelli Bacon kbacon@utah.gov
Illinois Aaron Weatherholt Aaron.Weatherholt@Illinois.gov
AAA Ken Bolser kbolser@national.aaa.com
BMWNA John Mansfield John.Mansfield@bmwna.com
Private Chris Bessert chris.bessert@gmail.com
Private Johnathan Winkler jonathan.winkler@gmail.com
Forest Service Karen Nabity knabity@fs.fed.us
FHWA Kevin Sylvester Kevin.Sylvester@dot.gov
Private Richard Carlson highways@n9jig.com
Rand McNally Richard Wanzo Rwanzo@Randmcnally.com
URS Corp Robert Gisetto robert_gisetto@urscorp.com
HERE Stearns, David david.stearns@here.com
DCR VA Wampler, Jennifer jennifer.wampler@dcr.virginia.gov
Colorado William G. Johnson william.g.johnson@dot.state.co.us
Indiana Stephan Summers s.summers72@yahoo.com

Other Useful Links:


What is the National Highway System?

Highway Systems – Federal-Aid Policy Guide

Sec. 470.113 National Highway System Procedures